Do you have a gripe with the ePortfolio?

Have you got a gripe with the ePortfolio?    Or perhaps you have a suggestion for change?  If so, jot it down below.  But before you do, take a peek and see whether others have covered your point – in which case you can add an additional comment to that initial post.  Hopefully, we can get the RCGP team to look at this page periodically and review what is here.   If you want to make a difference, get involved.  This space is for all users of the ePortfolio – trainees, trainers, supervisors, panel members and so on.  Remember, it’s to make the ePortfolio better.

Many thanks

Ramesh Mehay.

PS I will manage this page periodically to ensure old posts are removed and content is appropriate.

93 Responses to Do you have a gripe with the ePortfolio?

  1. Ramesh 23 August, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    When you log in, why do you have to have an unnecessary page to say how you want to log in (as trainer, as Ed Supervisor, as local admin, or as appraise). Previously, the ePortfolio remembered your last log in and one could change it from the menu on the left hand side. So why do we need this unnecessary extra page? Why not leave things as they were before?

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Thank you for the feedback. The College has been moving to a system of ‘single sign-on’ – whereby members should only ever need one username and one password to access any RCGP online area. This is why, once you have logged in, you then have to choose the role you wish to sign in as.

      We hope that once users get used to this functionality, it will actually prove to be preferable to the old system whereby you had multiple usernames and passwords.

      • Ramesh 14 September, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

        Hi Jamie – thanks for replying. I only ever did have one log on username and password for being a trainer, Ed Supervisor,Regional & local Administrator. Yes, there was a separate log in and user ONLY for ARCP panel members.

        I preferred it when after logging in, it just remained on the last ‘remembered’ logged in user type and for me to then select another as and when. The thing is, most of the time (80%) my log in will be as Trainer – so why have to go through the rigmarole of having to select what type of user I want to log in as? Log me in as trainer, and then the odd times I am Ed Supervisor or ARCP panel member, I can simply click to switch to that view (just like the old system permitted).

  2. Ramesh 23 August, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    The big large folders are on the dashboard are UGLY. They take up unnecessary space and clutter what was a ‘clean’ looking ePortfolio site. All the folders are in the left hand navigation menu anyway, so why have them duplicated again? Seems silly and an unnecessary use of space.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:43 am #

      Thank you for the feedback. We asked for volunteers from the AiT googlegroup to help us with suggestions for improvements/style/layout, etc and one of their top 20 requests was for a dashboard with a folder type display. They wanted easy access to the most commonly used sections, with the facility to provide an ‘at a glance’ overview of new notifications (eg, new learning log, educator note, etc).

      The left hand menu contains additional ‘folders’ but those that are used less frequently.

      Interestingly, other feedback we have received has been very positive about the dashboard view on the homepage so it is something we are unlikely to change in the near future.

      • Ramesh 14 September, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

        The dashboard is fine. But do the folder icons have to be so big and occupy so much space. One has to scroll down the page to see the other things rather than it fitting onto the whole of the display screen?

        My suggestion would be simply to make the folder icons smaller – perhaps half or a third of their current size? And perhaps a different icon for different things. So rather than have a picture of a folder for every dashboard item, perhaps a feather pen icon for the learning log, an agenda board for the PDP, a tick and a cross icon for the assessments/evidence, a book icon for ???
        I hope see what I mean.

  3. Ramesh 23 August, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    The assessments like CBDs and COTs – normally have a free text box to explain a bit about the case being assessed. However, in the overview page (where you can see all the CBDs at a glance), the space which details what each case is about is so narrow that you can’t read it. Please go back to the older view – it wasn’t broken, but now you have.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. i have made a note for this to be reviewed in a future update.

  4. Linda Latif 23 August, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    The Local Administrator role has disappeared – I only want to see trainees in my scheme, not in the whole deanery.

    • Linda Latif 4 September, 2013 at 7:12 am #

      Apparently the Local Admin role still exists but you can only be either Regional or Local Admin, you cannot switch between the 2 as before – the only way to get Local Admin access is to create a new ePortfolio account with a different e-mail address.

      • Eileen Shaw 4 September, 2013 at 8:08 am #

        We were wondering were the local Admin role had gone, so thank Linda. We agree, we only want to see our trainees!!

  5. Salman 23 August, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    In the previous eportfolio you could write entries in the PDP with numbers and bit of explaination and that remained quite tidy upon saving, in this one it completely changes the format once you save it.

    Over all previous one looked professional this one is bit flashy and a lot less useful, did not feel this one was intuitive and user friendly as acclaimed.

    P.S. I am not against the change but change for the better not for the worse

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 11:01 am #

      Thank you for the feedback – we are reviewing layout to provide further improvements. Any changes will be advertised ahead of time.

  6. Salman 23 August, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    The titles on LOG entries , the top row on the columns containing names works unpredictably, if you click on them, and it’s not easy to navigate through pages as smoothly and reliably as previously could be done. Good things however are perhaps the addition of a title to your entry and abilty to save every individual paragraph.

  7. Salman 23 August, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Its very difficult to tell how many pages of Log entries you have and to go to specific page.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 11:00 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, i have put this on the list for potential future improvements.

  8. Paul 23 August, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    I expect I’ll get used to navigating my way around with more exposure, so I’m less bothered by how it looks than I am with the fact that lots of it just doesn’t work or it’s diabolically slow.

    Things I needed to do now but can’t, and don’t want to have to wait until the next bit of planned maintenance, include
    Edit review dates and save them (it appears I can edit the dates, I click a save button, everything looks fine, but when I navigate away from the page and go back it hasn’t saved)
    Create ARCP forms
    I have a trainee who it won’t let me edit the posts of because it says the NTN is needed; where has her NTN gone? It was there before. And, now that I’ve tracked down her NTN, why is there nowhere for me to add it?

    Things I don’t like
    If I switch role (e.g. from ES to trainer) I get an error message “Sorry, you don’t have access to this trainee’s records”. I was done with that trainee, I wanted another trainee. That’s why I switched roles, thanks very much.
    When completing assessments (e.g. COTS) I liked the old form where I could display all the detailed criteria for each of the areas being assessed. I felt that really helped the trainee understand why I was marking it how I was and it helped me in writing my feedback. Now when I click display it gives me the information in a pop-up which I have to close before I can fill in my mark and write the feedback.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. A number of updates have been made since this post and we are continuing to work to address any major issues.

      Editing reviews – is this as an Admin or an ES? I would advise that all the minimum mandatory fields are completed (date/Post/location) before saving a review to ensure the details are updated correctly.

      ARCP forms can be created manually as before as appropriate under progress to certification and the forms are generated where the ES completes and signs the ESR (as before). Some new open forms were not migrated so in these exceptional cicumstances we are advising Admins to create the ARCP manually and then once completed send me a list of the Trainees/ARCP’s that you needed to do this for and we will update them by removing the ‘manual reason’ tag.

      Any Trainees missing their NTN from their record, please let the helpdesk know and we will get this updated.

      We are tweaking navigation so the error switching between ES and Trainer is something we can fix in a future update.

      The guidance in the COT and CbD forms is present in the new site and can be viewed by clicking the ‘display’ link in the relevant question.

  9. shahid 23 August, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    It showed, 2 log entries saved-but it did not. So lost log entries and had to rewrite.
    I am not writing on the web anymore until it fixed.
    It’s takes unnecessary space. Repeat information on the summary page with personal details (it’s a summary!!)as well as extra personal detail page.
    Looks like doggy website. Look like post it piece of paper.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 10:40 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. A number of fixes have been applied since this post was made and i hope you have found improvements in the site.

      We will review layout and appearance at a later stage.

  10. Rosemarie 25 August, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    I also liked the detailed description for needs further development, competent etc which use to be available under each criteria on the old cot/ bcd forms. Also I have found it difficult to send messages to trainees, when I click on the message bit the screen greys out.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 10:38 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. The guidance in the COT and CbD forms is present in the new site and can be viewed by clicking the ‘display’ link in the relevant question.

      We have made a couple of tweaks to messaging but should your issue persist please contact the helpdesk describing the issue and providing the browser you are using and on what operating system.

  11. ash 26 August, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    1) Very very slow – takes ages to upload documents such as certificates and uploads always stick at 31% ish
    2) how do you link the entry to curriculum headings – where are the headings
    3) Dont like the format, not intuitive – i think it is a step backwards

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working to improve the speed/responsiveness of the site but this will be ongoing.

      When reading a Learning Log entry, use the link near the top that says ‘select descriptors’ to link curriculum headings.

      We are also collating feedback about layout and access in the site to implement further improvements.

  12. Heather 26 August, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    This is a major overhaul and it will take us time to learn how to do things. We do need to give the RCGP some time to consolidate and make the current upgrade work before zapping them with another list of demands. On the positive side it looks and feels better, it has addressed some of the ES gripes from before about how much they had to work through to be able to track progress for ESR. It is much clearer about when things need to be dealt with in the portfolio for trainees and trainers. It is only a tool and it is far better than trying to track and monitor trainees in any other format (paper)

    The main gripes are that yet again the RCGP has not provided guidance documents at the time of the upgrade which means that we are all trying to get to grips with it in the dark and by trial and error. We might get a guidance document by November. Yet again it is clear real life testing was minimal (testing did go on but not apparently not in the live environment). The RCGP is being incredibly coy about what is working and not working and they apparently do know more than they are letting on….they have just sent an update to trainees via the AT reps, when they should have placed it all clearly on the eportfolio site.

    There are major issues trying to complete documentation for ARCPs this is particularly concerning for those about to CCT.
    The e-portfolio is now with a third party developer and essentially things will slow down re corrections, tweaks and upgrades.
    The tep mail and phone service is now a customer help line and is unable to sort out things and have to request rtechnical support from the third party developers, which inevitably will slow things down

    I have lost my dummy trainee portfolio which we used for training, so it is very difficult to see what the trainees see now.

    Let’s place this clearly in the RCGP court and find the correct avenues to feedback about the fact that some parts of the e-portfolio are not working correctly and not throw the baby out with the bathwater. Eportfolio itself is a fabulous tool for gathering evidence and tracking a trainee’s progress.

    Please don’t let this forum become a place where everyone who hates e-portfolio per se let’s off steam.


    • Ramesh 10 September, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Hi Heather, from the replies posted so far, I don’t think people are letting off steam. Actually, reading them shows them to be very specific, descriptive and constructive. Isn’t this what the RCGP ePortfolio team needs to make things better?

      Also, balanced feedback is important when it comes to people and their behaviour, but what we are talking about here is the ePortfolio – an electronic thing which we all just want to help make better as quickly as possible. I think Jamie Meecham in his last email wanted us to detail specifics so that they can make them better, which is what this page I think is doing.

      I created the page for people to voice exactly what they had a problem with. After all, the people who use it and are affected by it day-to-day is us (the trainees, trainers, Ed Supervisors etc) and not the ePortfolio team.

  13. Paul 28 August, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    On behalf of my admin staff; having to enter the ticket code for each PSQ response = entering the code minimum 40x (thank goodness for copy and paste). Madness!

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. The PSQ entry process will be improved in a future release. in the meantime if you save the code to your clipboard and use copy&paste, this helps speed up the process.

      • George Nurton 29 October, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

        Thank you for setting up this site, which i’ve discovered after a frustrating day with the PSQ.

        1) even with cutting and pasting the process is a pain, and to be informed by the helpdesk that it would remain so until december was disappointing to say the least. Surely the developers can be more responsive than this.

        2) we discovered a quicker solution in the end – use the browser “back” button which is expressly forbidden but seems to open a new form with only one click, albeit one click too many.

        3) on completion i spent considerable time trying to find out why i could not access the summary. Surely it should say somewhere that it can take 24h+ for it to become available.

        4) Unfortunately this release has made a bad thing worse. It is so frustrating to use that when a problem is encountered it is impossible to distinguish it from normal poor functionality. It spoils training.

  14. Anne 29 August, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    On the old e-portfolio you could enter an assessment before logging in without needing a ticket code. This facility seems to have disappeared.
    I also can’t see a simple way of switching from one trainee to another – there used to be a box to click on.
    I can get on as an educational supervisor but when I click on trainer it simply gives me an error message.
    You used to be able to navigate the learning log by using previous or next – useful when reviewing a number of entries. This facility seems to have gone.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      Thank you for your feedback.

      It is still possible to enter assessment forms without logging in but a ticket code is required from the respective Trainees – the Trainee can email the assessor from the eportfolio providing a weblink which takes them directly to the portal and also presents the specifically requested assessment form type e.g. CbD.

      There is a ‘home’ link in the left-hand menu which will return you at anytime to your list of Trainees to select.

      Please contact the helpdesk to log the issue regarding the error you get when trying to switch to the Trainer role.

      The links navigate between learning logs are on our list for future improvements and will likely return in due course.

  15. Pam 2 September, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    I have tried repeatedly to get my clinical supervisor from my plastics rotation to complete a CSR but this has crashed on him so many times he has got really annoyed and fed up and ended up putting this in the educators notes section.

    Additionally when I have tried to get feed back from hospital professionals via the new ticket system in my now previous rotation these tickets have timed out and when I have tried to re-send my seniors these tickets it telles me that these tickets are still open!!!! Aaaaaarrrrrgggghhhhh!!!! I am SO frustrated at this new eportfolio layout etc. the old was fine was the only exception of having this new ticketing system for CBD’s etc – that was the only thing that needed to be added on!!! And why on earth do all the maintenance JUST at the start of the new year when you are chasing old tutors to finally sort out their CSR’s etc etc.


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      Thank you for your feedback.

      Regarding issues entering assessment forms: Please ask the assessors to contact the helpdesk where this occurs to provide further details to assist our troubleshooting this issue. Details we will need include, Browser and version e.g. Internet Explorer 8, Operating System e.g. Windows 7 and description of the issue e.g. how they accessed the form, which form, how long did they spend filling it in before trying to submit it.

      As a guide, it is possible that a form may have timed out in the time that the assessor took to complete it. Assessors who need to take longer to complete a form (15-20 mins) should save a copy of their comments in a separate document just in case this issue recurs. The next time they go to fill in the form they can copy&paste where necessary. We are working to improve on this as one of our bug fixes.

      In terms of the timing of the update, there is never a good time for such a major update to take place, however end of July/early August is typically a quiet time in terms of the numbers of users logging into the ePortfolio, as it coincides with the changeover of rotations and the new cohort of ST1 trainees starting their programmes. This is the most logical time to do this piece of work as it wouldn’t make sense for new trainees to start on the old system and then be transferred part-way through the training year, equally we can’t do the update during May/June/July when the final reviews and ARCPs are taking place for completing trainees.

      However, we do appreciate the substantial inconvenience this has caused for trainees and all other users and we will aim to keep such disruption to a minimum in the future. It’s unlikely that such a major upgrade will be necessary for at least 5 years.

  16. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    the biggest wrong is that this another large scale IT failure by the college.

    lessons have not been learnt- wrong

    the whole cohort of trainees have been moved to an eP that is not stable nor tested- wrong, why not leave the ST2 and ST3 on the previous
    there are no dummy logins, so it is not possible for trainers or programme directors to make training materials- wrong
    the training materials on the RCGP website refer to the old eP version, with old screenshots. If your training materials aren’t ready, your system isn’t ready
    the twice that I have been wishing to spend time with the trainees learning about the eP it’s been down to be fixed

    when the college is contemplating future IT projects, it would be worth them having a read of the following, which reviews some of the governments IT failures


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. The site was subject to extensive testing but several major bugs were not identified until the site was made live. Work continues to address these issues as quickly as possible.

      In terms of managing subsets of users, it was not feasible to have both sites running simultaneously.

      I am concentrating on establishing more stability in the current site and resolving bugs – this has to take priority over updating the user documentation at present.

      The College will be undertaking a ‘lessons learnt’ exercise which will involve all stakeholders (Trainees, Trainers and Deaneries). More information will be published about this in due course.

  17. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    When reviewing the ‘progress to certification’

    why have extra steps to look at each AKT result- you would only have to have a table which could accommodate the information for 4 possible attempts. it would make it much easier when reviewing ‘progress’ if you could easily see the progress

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to review the formatting of the site to present information in a clear and logical manner.

  18. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    CSA assessments

    this table is badly formatted, and is much less clear than the old one
    the space in the table is uneven between the columns
    there is no linkage to anywhere which explains what the numbers in the top row actually mean

    sure, I know where I can find it, but why make this page less informative?


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      We will continue to review the formatting of the site to present information in a clear and logical manner.

      Guidance regarding the CSA feedback can be obtained using the link above the summary table.

  19. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    in the educators notes section:

    what’s the point in having a summary page?

    it is a real faff to plough through and read, which means that any given supervisor or panel member etc is going to find it a real chore

    why can’t we have the previously layout which allowed you to read through the text in one go

    you could then paginate per 8 entries if you wished

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, we are going to update how information can be viewed/accessed in a release in the near future. Further details will be posted online ahead of any changes in due course.

  20. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    in the educators notes section

    a lot of HTML formatting has crept in from the old database e.g.

    filling in the eP ESR now that the self rating…

    it looks really sloppy


    Using the 'spotting the sick child DVD…

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      The old site used several different sets of text boxes which handled html/text in deifferent ways. the new site has consistent text box functionality throughout. We have identified a potential solution for stripping old data of the html tagging, this is being tested for inclusion in a future release if it is found to be viable.

  21. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    except you can’t see the HTML in the above post as this rather better written site strips it out


  22. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    when reviewing learning logs

    so, you get a list of all the logs

    you can mouseover and it at least brings up the first sentance or two of the LL entry

    but when you click to review the entry, if you then wish to review the comments added by the CS/ ES or whoever, it is another click- what’s the point? why not just display this information along with the LL entry, why do you have to click and get a pop-up to display it, and then click it to make it go away

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, we are going to update how information can be viewed/accessed in a release in the near future. Further details will be posted online ahead of any changes in due course.

  23. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    when reviewing the LL entries

    the ‘date locked’ is listed as 01/01/2000 00:00 for all old entries which shows a problem with migrating the data from the old database


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      This date/timestamp was selected on purpose – the former website did not record this information in an earlier version so old records will display like this.

  24. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    when reviewing the PDP

    why does it have to be so painful

    why can’t the PDP just carry the full text on the summary page, why force a poor ES,CS or deanery panel member to click and bring up the entries, row by agonizing row?

    a top tip when designing a website- if you can’t provide the information within 4 clicks from the top, then a lot of the time people aren’t going to click that far (and if you don’t believe me contrast the simplicity with finding information on to some other programme websites)

    the college would do well to revisit the old website (if they can find an archived copy) as it was a masterpiece of simple, effective layout and it carried a ton of information, forms etc.


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, we are going to update how information can be viewed/accessed in a release in the near future. Further details will be posted online ahead of any changes in due course.

  25. Steven Taylor 3 September, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    the skills log

    it isn’t possible to read any more of the trainee comments that is listed in the table. unlike most of the rest of the eP you cant click to bring up any kind of mouseover or popup to read the rest, so you can see as much as this

    “i feel confident with this examination and a chaperone…”

    there are only going to be about 20 entries max, why can’t the eP display all the text in a list that we can scroll through, so we can view all of the mandatory, optional and other skills on one page


    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you for your feedback, we are going to update how comments can be viewed/accessed in a release in the near future. Further details will be posted online ahead of any changes in due course.

  26. Linda Latif 4 September, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    Post start and end dates cannot be amended – if you try to extend a post end date, you can’t because it overlaps the start of the next. If you try to extend the start date of the following post to avoid the overlap you can’t because there is a gap between the end date of the previous post. The only solution is to delete one of the posts altogether and recreate.

    • Eileen Shaw 4 September, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      Haven’t come across this yet, but will be aware, thanks.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      Hi Linda,

      I will look in to this.

    • heather 17 September, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Likewise this remains a problem

  27. rachel ruddock 4 September, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    I am not happy as no work placed based assessments are saving – I’ve asked people to complete them and then they don’t save. very frustrating as difficult to ask trainers to do them repeatedly

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:55 am #

      Please ask the assessors to contact the helpdesk where this occurs to provide further details to assist our troubleshooting this issue. Details we will need include, Browser and version e.g. Internet Explorer 8, Operating System e.g. Windows 7 and description of the issue e.g. how they accessed the form, which form, how long did they spend filling it in before trying to submit it.

      As a guide, it is possible that a form may have timed out in the time that the assessor took to complete it. Assessors who need to take longer to complete a form (15-20 mins) should save a copy of their comments in a separate document just in case this issue recurs. The next time they go to fill in the form they can copy&paste where necessary. We are working to improve on this as one of our bug fixes.

  28. Gill Scott 5 September, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    Educators’ notes do not save properly – the spaces and paragraphs in the text disappear so that the text is save as one long, incorrectly formatted paragraph. This leads to lack of clarity.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:50 am #

      Thank you for highlighting this issue – i have raised it with our developers to be fixed.

  29. Brian McMillan 5 September, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    I can not upload powerpoint files. I need to show evidence that I have done a teaching session but it will not let me upload a powerpoint file. Sigh.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      This issue has been resolved – users can now upload .ppt files.

  30. Brian McMillan 5 September, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Microsoft introduced .docx files in 2007.

    That’s six years ago, so I’m guessing that most people, when they save a document have it saved as a .docx file.

    The eportfolio will not let me upload .docx files. Am I right in assuming that the people who designed this work in I.T.?

  31. Paul 9 September, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    The fact that it tells you your session is about to expire and please save your work. If you’re in the middle of a CSR or similar you can’t save it; you have to complete it before submitting, by which time you’ve been logged out and you have to start again.
    Why can’t it either give you the option to save the CSR as you go along or, when it warns you you are about to be logged off give you an option to stay logged in?

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      Most common file types are supported for upload to the ePortfolio. We would encourage Office 2007 (and above) users to save files in the standard .doc format for example – this helps where Supervisors and Deaneries are required to review evidence and may not have the necessary software installed to open these files.

    • Jamie Meecham 13 September, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      The site is set to time out after 30 minutes. We understand that this is causing some users issues so in the first instance we are going to extend it to 60 minutes to help alleviate this problem.

  32. Heather 11 September, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    Ram are you collating all these issues? There is a DALs meeting and we could feedback all these issues in a document to RCGP, separating out gripes and developmental advances from glitches that need to be fixed immediately. There is alot of really useful feedback which we could send to the RCGP here

    Feel free to contact me before 25/09/2013 (DALs meeting at UKCEA)

  33. Paul 12 September, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    I’m doing ARCP panel preparation. You have to expand the comments for each competency in the ESR, which means I can’t view the competences in-toto. There’s a button that lets you download a .pdf of the ESR, but it doesn’t include all of the comments so this is useless.

    • Heather 16 September, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      I agree most of the ARCP work required to check everything is taking much longer to complete as we now have to dodge backwards and forwards lots more. Also it took me sometime to realise that when you check a log entry it opens up a new window full size without telling you, which meant when I clicked the back button expecting to go to the ESr I went back to log entries. ARCP panels will need to be flexible aboutr evidence provision for those completing whilst their are problems with e-portfolio. I do hope the RCGP certification people will be equally flexible if the paperwork is missing

      It would be so much simpler to replicate the ESR as you see it as an ES where you get the trainee self ratings next to the ES ratings, then you can compare the evidence presented to support the statements at the same time.

      My main frustrations apart from having to field criticism from my users, is that admin functions presently are very limited and not working -the site has crashed again this morning, meaning the time I have set aside to complete CCT ARCPs is futile.

      Jamie Meecham is doing stirling work in responding and in some cases fixing individual issues (a number of my NTN losses) but he shouldn’t be having to do this. A full and frank list of issues and notification of when an expected fix will occur would be helpful so that we can know when it is safe and sensible to use the portfolio. There is nothing more frustrating than trying to work on something and have it fail, over and over again.

      BTW probably the fundamental flaw in this whole process has been the fact that the testing did not appear to be rigorous enough (see above – “The site was subject to extensive testing but several major bugs were not identified until the site was made live”.) I believe this was requested and a number of Deaneries offered to be involved. The lesson to be learnt here is that new developments should always be tested in the real world and on the ground first before going “live” , the MAJOR BUGS should have been identified before release.

      There are many facets of the portfolio that are excellent, I would far rather use this than any paper portfolio and as evidence gathering is fundamental to maintenance of standards then we have to support the RCGP in their development of e-portfolio. But please make it clear what is and isn’t working and for whom (i.e. browser issues) and a time frame for fix – I have a lot of other work that I need to complete without spending hours working through the portfolio.

      Please can we have a time frame for the promised user guidance documents, this would undoubtedly help users

  34. Damian Kenny 16 September, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    When looking at learning logs, it seems that we have to return to the summary page after viewing each individual entry. On the old portfolio we could click an arrow to go from one log entry to the next, which was more efficient. Could this function be included in the new version?

  35. Damian Kenny 16 September, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    When logged in as the regional administrator, on the old system we could see the email of the educational supervisor for each registrar. This does not seem to be available now. It was sometimes useful when working with some registrars with difficulties to be able to note the email of their ES so that we could contact them directly. Could this be included in the new portfolio?

  36. Rose 17 September, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    May I suggest some training for Administrators as soon as is reasonably possible, and I agree with Heather, a User Guide would be helpful as I am struggling.


  37. Brian McMillan 17 September, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    Can we get the old ePortfolio back until the new one works properly?

  38. sarahh 18 September, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Having problems with not being able to see all trainees on my list for educational supervision. Only 1 on and I think I have three

  39. David 20 September, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    I can’t download attachments from learning logs

  40. Brian McMillan 21 September, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    When my clinical supervisor attempts to fill in DOPS he is unable to enter his own GMC number as mine has already been automatically entered in the place where he should have been able to put his.

  41. Rob 22 September, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Since the upgrade, my browsers (IE8 at work, safari at home) no longer remember my username, nor was I ever given the option to remember username at first log-in after the upgrade. As my username is my long NHS email address, it really is very laborious typing it in each time.
    I have had a short message-based conversation with support about this, whose answer was that they use google chrome which does remember username and that firefox is also believed to do so (it does, but its not my browser of choice) On further questioning, support decided that this was a browser issue and that they were unable to help further. My point is that prior to the upgrade, both IE and safari remembered my username, so surely its not just a browser issue

    • Linda Latif 25 September, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      Yes this is a nuisance and I’ve been meaning to add a post re this – I use Internet Explorer 10 and it does not remember any of the information in the new ePortfolio – ie login details, post reference number, post descriptions, dates on ARCP forms, etc – all of which used to save time having to type in from scratch.

  42. Colin Speers 24 September, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    When locking a learning log entry as a clinical supervisor using safari it takes forever, with no evidence anything is happening initially.

  43. Brian McMillan 30 September, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    I am currently doing a 4 month post.

    In my previous 6 month post I was expected to submit 3 CBDs and 3 Mini-Cexes or COTS.

    When I go into my “Evidence” link now it says; “Forms submitted between 07/08/2013 and 04/02/2014″ even though I finish on 03/12/13

    It also states I should have a minimum of 3 MiniCexes and 3 CBDs – the same as I needed for my 6 months post previously.

    I assume this is an error?

    • Heather 10 October, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      Remember that the evidence submitted is not by [placement but by review period and these last 6 months.
      If you do 3 x 4 hospital posts in a year you will have 2 x 6 month review periods. You therefore need the following evidence:

      Review period 1
      Hospital post 1: : x 2 of each assessment, MSF cycle plus log entries and CSR
      Hospital post 2: x 1of each assessment, MSF cycle plus log entries

      Review Period 2
      Hospital post 2: x 1 of each assessment, MSF cycle plus log entries and CSR
      Hospital post 3: x 2 of each assessment, MSF cycle plus log entries and CSR


  44. Philippa Grant 2 October, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I’ve run into difficulties with my MSF and putting assors emails into the system to generate a ticket code. I contacted enquiries about this and they unhelpfully told me to cut and paste the instructions into an email to the assessors. Unfortunately they overlooked the fact that the code is now no longer valid (despite the fact it doesn’t expire until November). I’ve contacted them again but to be honest the eportfolio as a whole seems to be a complete shambles. It’s ridiculous that we’re being inconvenienced in this way considering how much the damn thing costs!

  45. Mark Waters 3 October, 2013 at 6:19 am #

    Thanks Ram for making this page available – really helpful to scroll through and see issues being identified by others.

    I haven’t seen any other comments about my issue, so I wonder if it is a general one or not. But there is an error on the Professional Competences page. Clicking through to that page either from the left hand frame or from the dashboard just takes me to a page telling me “there are no professional competences to display”. This is the case for both trainees to whom I am Ed Sup – and in both cases they do have competences to display. The trainees get the same page as well.

    This could be some kind of local glitch – but it highlights the poor support we are getting now. I contacted the Deanery and our excellent admin support there – and they are seeing the same error page for these trainees. I rang the ePortfolio helpdesk and spoke to someone who couldn’t solve the problem as the ePortfolio was crashed at that time. They said they would get back to me, but have not done so. I emailed the helpdesk through the ePortfolio and have received a reply from System Administrator saying “Chirag Kothari has replied to enquiry reference number 68015.” However, the error is not fixed, and I have not received a reply!

    So I Ed Sup to two trainees, but cannot review their Competences. They both have ESRs due next month. My attempts to solve the problem are meeting with no progress. This is a very radically different kind of support to that we were used to previous to this upgrade – and (so far) totally ineffective.

    Mark Waters

  46. Heather 10 October, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Hi Mark

    You probably need to provide a bit more information so that the glitch can be identified. What browser are you using? This is often a problem that some browsers (not always identified by RCGP as to which ones) don;t seem to work properly, so try a different browser.
    Is there tagged evidence linked to the competency areas since the upgrade (a problem for some ST3 trainees who are about to complete who haven;t really got any new linked and validated evidence in this review period). Some ST3 trainees seem to have “lost” the links to their previous competences as well.

    My view is if you are putting them through for CCT then go on any previous information you have as currently you cannot see up to date information. Ask certification/exams to suggest a work around ass obviously the current system is not allowing you to review the trainee evidence adequately. Put the onus on them to make a work around that will not disadvantage the trainee (we hve already done this with a cople of trainees around actually creating ARCP documentation (which we couldn’t do) nor print one out (because we couldn’t create one).

    The help have been so helpful when they sent an email to everyone saying they were confident that all the issues had been fixed and therefore they closed all the enquiries last month. This meant that anyone with an unfixed enquiry has had to re send it, if you could work out which ones had been fixed and which had not and which were the ones relevant to you. However, many technical glitches and bugs can only be fixed by the 3rd party developer and not the help line now (customer service line).

    BTW it was not tested in the live environment……

  47. Rob 16 October, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    As a Trainer I used to be able to copy, eg useful web references, into the comments box of log entries.
    Right click>paste now seems to be greyed out

  48. Brian McMillan 17 October, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Adding attachments and weblinks to log entries is not intuitive.

    At the minute if you want to add a weblink to a log entry you have to;

    1. Click on “New Attachment” (No mention of weblink anywhere on this page, for a while I assumed this option had just been removed)
    2. Click on “Upload new document” (even though you don’t want to add a document, you want to add a weblink!)
    3. Then enter the new weblink (ah, there it is finally a mention of the thing you actually want to add!)

    Why not just have a “Add Weblink” button on the log entry page. One button to do one job. It’s not rocket science.

    At the minute if you want to add an attachment to a log entry you have to;

    1. Click on “new attachment”
    2. Click on “upload new document”
    3. Browse for the new document

    Nine times out of ten we’ll be adding a new document rather than a document form the library, so having an extra step in this process is irritating. Again, why to just have a “Add New Attachment” button? Simples.

  49. Peter Burke 20 October, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    You may be aware of a perception that the new eportfolio is a step back in many respects. It is not possible to easily to move back and forth between entries, without going through the index. Once an entry has been locked it is no longer possible to real and edit it as was the case before. Certain punctuation marks are still coded oddly, eg $25$. Attachments can be impossible to open. Furthermore the E portfolio does not allow the adding of comments when run on iPad or iPhone. Can these features be amended?

  50. Junaid Azam 7 November, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    With regards to linking PDP entries to learning log entries, there doesn’t seem to be a facility at present to allow you to link evidence on the learning log with the PDP entries. All you’re given is the option of creating a new PDP objective when you click “send to PDP”. So I’ve just been using the outcomes section of each PDP to point to which entries on my learning log demonstrate learning about a particular PDP. Can the college not incorporate a better way of going about this?

  51. Linda Latif 8 November, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    This may have been reported already but when logged in as Panel Member, it is not possible to see ESRs, PSQ and MSF which have not been ‘released’, but these can be seen via Regional Administrator login – during an ARCP panel, this means having either to log out as Panel Member, login as Regional Admin to review, then login again as Panel Member, or if possible, have another panel member login as Regional Admin on their laptop.

  52. Peter Davis 13 November, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    in the trainee view we (ie several GPSTs, a trainer & TPD) can’t see how the trainee can see their curriculum coverage. It is easy enough as an educational supervisor, but this is clearly something GPSTs need to know as they go along.

    • Colin Speers 19 November, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      The trainee I ES had this problem until I set their review date, then all of the summaries became available. On the old eportfolio it wasn’t necessary to set the review period up at the start of the post as an ES, now it looks necessary.

  53. Mary Cuthbert 8 January, 2014 at 4:29 pm #

    Major gripe with fact that issue regarding uploading PSQs has STILL not been resolved. It is a ludicrous waste of time to have to enter the ticket code 40 times. Even with “copy and paste” it takes 3 times as long as the old system where one could upload PSQs sequentially.

    I am aware that this task is often delegated to admin staff(but not in my practice!). This may be why nothing has been done to address the problem.
    In my opinion no member of staff should have to be put through this painstaking and mind-numbing process.

    Also there is no display of running total of number of PSQs submitted ,so one has to log on to trainee’s eportfolio to the “evidence” section to check how many PSQs have uploaded.

    I would ask that this matter is looked into ASAP

    Thank you

  54. Brian McMillan 14 January, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

    I have just spent hours typing in my self-ratings for my review preparation and am now unable to save them. I am getting the error message
    “Location Can Not be Blank”.

    I have just rang the helpdesk who have told me that we can not enter our location, only our educational supervisor can. Until our educational supervisor has entered our location we can not enter any of our self ratings.

    I’m not really sure why they need this information to be entered considering we all already know where we are, as do our educational supervisors, and this information is already on the ePortfolio anyway.

Leave a Reply

three − 3 =